The Team

Visitors to St Dominic’s have commented on the happy, relaxed atmosphere in our school. As with any community, we have rules and leaders. Our dedicated staff are creative, dynamic and innovative and are committed to improving outcomes for our pupils and students to enhance their learning process and provide an exciting Waking Day Curriculum.

All permanent support staff attend In Service Training (INSET) on autism and other special needs. There is ongoing in-house training on Understanding Autism and other relevant SEN type training.

Staff members also attend training in the SPELL framework.  Developed by the National Autistic Society in conjunction with people with autism, their families and professionals, it is a socially valid framework that supports the understanding of autism and the development of autism friendly environments and approaches.

Please see the link below for the management structure.

Management Structure

The full staff team, under the leadership of the Principal, Mrs Angela Drayton can be found below.

Name Area of responsibility Contact details
Mrs A Drayton Principal adrayton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs V Perry Vice Principal & Head of Education, Teaching & Learning vperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs E Godfrey Assistant Head of Education & Key Stage 3 Coordinator lgodfrey@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs N Wilson Assistant Head of Education, Responsible for Learning and Teaching across the Waking Day Curriculum nwilson@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs M Broughton English Teacher mbroughton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss E Jones Head of Key Stage 2 ejones@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Dr K Glaysher Head of Sixth Form, Occupational Therapist kglaysher@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr B Sanders DT Teacher bsanders@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs D Gilmour 6th Form Teacher dgilmour@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S Chown Science Teacher & Key Stage 4 Coordinator schown@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs B Coleman Key Stage 2 Teacher bcoleman@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr C Connor PE Teacher cconnor@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss J Grant English Teacher jgrant@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Ms J Ritchie Art Teacher jritchie@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs V Walsh Maths Teacher vwalsh@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Miss E Rackstraw Clinical Lead, Speech & Language Therapist erackstraw@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs C Morgan Clinical Lead, Occupational Therapist cmorgan@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr S Morton Behaviour & Inclusion Co-ordinator smorton@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr N Perry Behaviour & Inclusion Lead nperry@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr S Reynolds Teacher of Computing sreynolds@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr A Pryor Teacher apryor@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs H Scanlon School Nurse hscanlon@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs C Hall Careers Education & Guidance Practitioner chall@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr M Oliver Head of Care moliver@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs B Deans Residential Area Leader (Phoenix House) bdeans@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Ms K Nicholls Residential Area Leader (6th Form) knicholls@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr D Ward Site Manager dward@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Ms T Jones PA to the Principal tjones@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr M Bell SENCo mbell@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mr R English Teacher renglish@stdominicsschool.org.uk
Mrs S Kennedy Admissions & Family Liaison Manager skennedy@stdominicsschool.org.uk

 

 

The residential special school provides highly effective services that consistently exceed the standards of good. The actions of the school contribute to significantly improved outcomes and positive experiences for children and young people. Ofsted – March 2018

 

 

Latest News

Welcome to the New Student Voice

On Monday, our whole school assembly focused on the Student Voice and was led by Mrs Perry, Head of Education.   In school, we have Student Voice representatives for each Key Stage.  The representatives are the ‘voice of the pupils …

Read more

Kingswood Day 3 – Rouen!

Today we had a guided tour of the city of Rouen, the capital of Normandy, learning about its history. The highlight was seeing a Black Death site where we saw skeletons being excavated from an old market square.

Read more

Kingswood Day 2 – Baking & Battlefields!

  After a busy day of activities yesterday, in the evening pupils and students learned how to bake authentic croissants (pictured looking delicious!) and then tried their hands at archery. Pupils and students were early to bed last night in …

Read more

Kingswood Day 1 – Fun at the Beach!

Yesterday, after a long journey, pupils and students arrived safe and sound at the Chateau mid-afternoon. After they had unpacked, pupils and students enjoyed an evening meal followed by sports activities. After so much excitement, some pupils and students woke …

Read more